Weekly Photo Challenge: Arranged

This photo was taken last summer at daybreak in a resort by the Egyptian North Coast where we were staying. I am not necessarily an early riser, but when away or on vacation, I tend to be up and about very early, and usually with the camera too – everything is just different at dawn and around the time morning is breaking, and I don’t mean physical aspects such as the photographic qualities of the light, but the sense of space and surroundings is simply completely altered in that ephemeral quiet. 

two orange chairs - August 2011

Those chairs were shot at sunrise by the pool. After the previous day’s use, they were among the arrangement of the disarrayed chairs (it sounds like an oxymoron, I know, but there was order and pattern in those “disarrayed” chairs). In the quiet surroundings, all these chairs somehow made a deep impression on me – there was something quite existentialist about them strewn around the empty pool as their occupiers had left them, and I found myself weaving stories around each arrangement as I took the photos.

This is the first time I find myself wanting to respond to the Weekly Photo Challenge, despite following the Daily Post blog at WordPress for quite some time now. Upon reading about this week’s theme, Arranged (“[…] Sometimes you chance across things which were arranged on purpose, or on a whim […]), I immediately wanted to post this photo under it – it felt it had always belonged to this theme; mostly too because, until this photo challenge, it had been an orphan photo not belonging to any specific album on my lomohome. So, I am glad I am getting the chance to showcase it in this curated context, I wonder if it is as fitting within the “Arranged” theme as I find it to be.

your 2¢ please

